An Apology to the Native American Community

I wanted to write this apology as I was not aware Natives felt so strongly about the mention of Native Americans in Magic in North America, especially as theirs is not the culture I come from.

Firstly, I wanted to say thank you to all the comments from readers and especially Natives. including Dr. Adrienne Keene and Debbie Reese.  Thank you to Magadelena for replying to my question.

Some of the comments I received were aggressive and vitriolic, while others were calm and insightful.  Since hearing Native voices on my blog and watching some YouTube videos my view on this matter has changed.

JK Rowling is clearly in the wrong for using Native American culture as part of her fantasy franchise and I was wrong for agreeing with her use of Native American lore.  You are right that she should not commercialize your history.
I myself have been vilified for wrongs done to me, which is one of the reasons I started an independent blog, to state my views peacefully and find an audience for the work that is dear to my heart.  I am someone who has worked for years to preserve cultures in my own community, and I can tell this is as important to you as my culture is to me.  I cannot bear to read the words I wrote last March.  I have taken down my original post.

I would love for people to hear more friendly Native voices, especially as there are people out there who never hear from Natives as they’re not represented in the media.   I don’t want people to continue to ignore the concerns of Native Americans, as they are an already marginalized community.  Toward that end, I’ve been retweeting Native voices in my Twitter feed and contacted Natives to collaborate on sharing their stories and would be happy to work with Natives to adapt them for my blog, if they are willing.

I have not seen Fantastic Beasts the movie, nor do I plan to buy tickets.

The whole world of blogging is new to me and I hope you will forgive my ignorance in writing a defense of JK Rowling’s use of Native Americans in her History of Magic in North America writings.  I love the Harry Potter Books but in this case, I think she has misused the franchise.

Leave a Reply

