International Literary Books Are Here

intlliterature111

Reading and writing has always been a part of my life.  This blog has particularly been an enriching journey.  While my Dead/Live journals were a great place for me in school to express my feelings about my student life, this blog, M&M Mariam Books, has been a place where I can share my thoughts while at the same time produce content my adult self can be proud of.  This blog is still in its youth, but it’s quickly growing.  I’ve seen great success with this blog, more than I could have expected. I think there is no time better than now to introduce the next great thing I will be doing with this blog.

INTERNATIONAL LITERATURE FOR EVERYONE

The world of English literature will not be exhausted by me anytime soon, but in my quest to read the best of all literature I don’t want to limit myself.  I would like to add new types of written works into my reading repertoire.  I will be focusing on Spanish and Arabic literature, along with English/American Literature.

IMG_3514

Those who have been reading this blog for some time now know I have an Asian background.  I have a profound love for classical Arabic literature.  The Arab civilization is large, with a long history, and a rich language.  I think the best works are from antiquity (aka The Golden Age) 750AD-1250AD, however many modern Arab or MENA writers like Tariq Ramadan, Umm Zakiyyah, Maryam Mahmoodian have added diversity to the genre.

51MiQ3n4TPL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

In addition to Arabic, lots of my neighbors are from various Latin countries, like Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and Dominican Republic.  I’ve had Spanish friends and also attended school with Columbians, Ecuadorians, and Brazilians.  One of my favorite writing inspirations is Andrea Balt, a young lady from Spain who runs the WriteYourselfAlive write-a-thon.  Spanish writing hails way back from 14th century Andalusia to the Latin American countries: from  Miguel Cervantes’ Don Quiote to One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

100-years-of

THE ENGLISH BOOKS ARE HERE TO STAY

I have a great love for English books as I dedicated 4 years of college to study it, so those videos on my YouTube channel and posts on this blog will not go away and I will continue commentating on English books. However you will be seeing more posts and videos on Spanish and Arabic literature.    I hope that you are as excited as I am for this addition to my blog.  I am not limiting my blog to English, Spanish, and Arabic literature, however I would like to do justice to each of these first before moving onto others.   All cultures have something positive to contribute to our own and I’m honored to be bringing those cultures to my blog.

Leave a Reply

