I’m going camping this summer!

camp nanowrimo

Well, not the tent, toasted marshmallows, and hiking type of camping that I did back in 2007.

This is more of a writer’s camping.  Camp NaNoWriMo.

I tried to write a novel in 30 days once in 2006, another time last November.  I failed both times.  I think November’s just a really busy month for me, so to take on NaNo, is a gigantic task during an already packed month. My summers, however, are usually much more free.  I’m so glad NaNo holds a summer novel writing event!! YAYY!!

snoopy n woodstockThis summer, I will be hermit-ing out in my bedroom writing the next greatest novel the world has ever seen!

Or at least a 150,000 composition of Mariam’s best story ever.

Roughly 1500-1700 words a day, for 90 days (3 months – June, July, August).

My own story. And it’s gonna be great!

Unlike my first manuscript which is a young adult novel about friendship, high school, and romance — this book is partly autobiographical, historical, it is nonfiction but has significant amount of stories in it. Because of the sheer size of the project, It may end up being 2 separate works, I’m not entirely certain yet.

For the month of July I’ve created a 30-day writing challenge, called #AWritersChallenge for NaNoWriMo. You are free to take on the challenge for the month of July on your blog, or you can join me this month as I will be doing it this June starting tomorrow. I thought it would be a great way to introduce my writing style, habits, and share with other writers out there.

Keep the blog posts short, they don’t have to be 5,000 words (that’s for your novel!) and include a photo =)

a writer's challenge

If you want to participate use the hashtag #AWritersChallenge on Twitter or Instagram so we can follow your posts! The prompts are designed to help you pull from the experiences that made you a writer. They may even help you find new ideas for your writing project!

You do not have to be writing a novel to take part. It can be any writing project of your choice, from fiction and fantasy, to nonfiction memoir, or entirely nonfiction book. However most of the prompts will be fiction-biased. You can get more details and the prompts on my AWritersChallenge page.

I’m so excited to see what you guys will be blogging! Please let me know below if you will be participating, or tweet me @EmancipatedMimi.

I will be updating my Camp NaNoWriMo experience on my vlog.  If you want to follow my writing progress and pitfalls, you can catch me vlogging daily at my  vlog channel HERE.    Or my writing instagram: @MariWriting

2 thoughts on “I’m going camping this summer!

  1. I’ve never attempted Nanowrimo before but this makes it sound super fun. I really want to consider doing it but I feel like I’d never be able to get myself to sit down long enough to write.

    Like

    • thats awesome! yeah sometimes I feel like wont manage the discipline but I remember the best writers just start writing…..the more words you have the easier it willbe to edit out the bad parts later. I hope you will join!! link me to your progress blog or instagram or where u’re posting u’re word counts =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

