Bookish Habits – Top 5 Wednesday | M&M Mariam

I’ve been meaning to do another Top 5 Wednesday but have been busy with family, and work-related things that I haven’t had time! ::sigh:: So today I decided to do another one of these Memes created by Ginger Reads Lainey. =) It’s also a very timely topic for me, so, let’s begin!

The topic for this week is: Bookish Habits!

I feel like our habits as readers change based on what we’re doing at different parts in our lives. For example, I was not someone who read for fun, until late high school. If you watch My Reading History video, I spent most of my non-school time watching TV shows, soap operas, and teen shows on the WB. I didn’t read as many books as I do now and it’s ONE OF THE BIGGEST REGRETS OF MY LIFE. I wish I had caught the reading bug sooner, but I couldn’t and I explain why in my video, if you’d like to see it.

So, as a full-time employee, I’ll read books I have to read, and don’t usually have time for FUN reading.

I trained as an English teacher, so I’ve read at least 4 novels every year since I’ve taught. I usually teach a mix of books my kids like, canon and one or two of the books I really enjoy. I don’t have time outside of work to read books I love, unless it’s the summer. I’m taking the year off, so I’ve had time to catch up on some of my favorite series!

As my habits always change, I’ll briefly talk about my current habits:

1

Dropping books I don’t like.

tis is fangirl

Since August of last year, I’ve put down (DNFed), either for now, or forever, a few books:

  • Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson,
  • The Golem’s Eye (Bartemius Trilogy) by Jonathan Stroud
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  • The Mortal Instrument series by Cassandra Clare (I ended up liking Clockwork Angel!)
  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
  • The House of Night Series by P. C. Cast & Kristin Cast

They just don’t match my criteria of realistic, imaginative, and humorous. Also, the writing style was not the best, in my opinion. Notice, I didn’t say writing, but writing style — it was just not to my tastes!! Sorry!! But that’s my honest opinion .

Instead of I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky, Looking for Alaska by John Green, Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, The Percy Jackson books, A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin (still working through this clunker!!), To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, and of, course, I finished the Harry Potter series, which is my favorite series of all time =)

2

Buying books I like.

looking for alaska

I usually bring a LOT of books home from the library, close to 20 per trip, which is a combination of children’s, young adult, and a few adult and I read the ones I like. I buy the ones that are keepers, like Looking for Alaska by John Green =)

3

Being honest about the books I Don’t Like

harry potter box set

Sometimes we think there isn’t a good book out there, and we’re supposed to be liking books other people like too, but we have our own styles and likes. There are authors out there writing books you like!

This is something I’ve learned and I’ve decided I’m going to just go with it. Say how I feel about books I don’t like and do the same justice to books I do. Just because I don’t like the Mortal Instruments series doesn’t mean I don’t like, the Clockwork Angel series, also just because I love the Harry Potter series doesn’t mean everyone and their cousin does so. But I’m going to go ahead and feel what I feel and be honest about it, and defend my opinions =) That’s why I’m hosting a Harry Potter re-read-a-thon and, yeah, I’d love it if you joined. Because I unabashedly love these books =)

4

Re-reading books I adore.

re reading books

If you’ve been following me on twitter or my YouTube channel, you know that I’ve been re-reading the Harry Potter series. They are everything that I want in a series of books and I laugh, cry, get mad at, and love these books and the characters. Sometimes, when I’m in a reading slump, I’ll re-read a few pages of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and I’ll be hooked onto books again — it gives me the boost I need to try new books.

5

Slow down.

anna exited

I get over-excited and overzealous when I find new things I like. So, I’ve decided to reduce my library hauls by at least 5, I’m supposed to also be pulling the stops on my book buying and read 5 books before I buy 1 book (#ProjectFiveBooks), but I get cheap books at library sales so I come home with over 30 books and I’m just gonna go with it, ’cause they came around once a season and the books are like 25 cents each =)

I hope you enjoyed this post as I had fun doing it!! What are your reading habits like? Do they changed based on what you’re doing in your life at the time? Do you read more during vacations/holidays, and less on school/work days? Let me know down below and I have a great Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

