Series I Want to Start in 2015 – Top 5 Wednesday 1/14 | M&M Mariam

I’ve been a reader since I was in high school and a book blogger for 12 years, and I got onto booktube this year. Which has been a great experience. I think it has its pros and cons, but I’ve been introduced to new series, specifically the Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices series both by Cassandra Clare. I was never a huge series fan, I used to read Girl Talk by L. E. Blair (K. A. Applegate, author of the Animorphs series), two Francine Pascal series Sweet Valley High Senior Year, and I started Fearless in high school.  Lately, haven’t been reading many series, since I noticed that I start series and they don’t seem to engross me so much that I want to commit to them.

Amongst the Series I haven’t finished are:

  • Maximum Ride by James Patterson
  • Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
  • The Bartimaeus Triology by Jonathan Stroud

The Series I want to Start in 2015, (and finish):

clockwork angel omg yes

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare – I read a part of the Mortal Instruments series, but I’ve heard that the infernal devices is better written. I didn’t get into TMI, but I’ve read 100 pages into Clockwork Angel, and I like Tessa’s character. I’m hoping this heroine will make me love this series 🙂 Plus, Will, though a little arrogant, with his angular face and deep blue eyes is pretty hot.

the bad beginning

The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket – I have decided to join the Neverlanders group on Goodreads and start and finish this series because I find the concept about a group of orphans who face horrible things after their parents die in a house fire interesting. Should be entertaining and hopefully come out feeling grateful for my own imperfect orphaned life, which is probably way better, in comparison, to theirs. Also, I’m looking forward to discussing each book with the other members!

the chronicles of narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis – Narnia is one of the most enchanting worlds I discovered as a kid, but I never finished the books after The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe. As a kid in 4th grade, I thought the idea that a cupboard that can lead you to a magical world where it snows, and there are loyal lion friends, was just awesome. I even used to pretend there was s secret passage in my own apartment, and imagine me going through it to be with my animal friends. So, really looking forward to reading and finishing this series in 2015!

the lrdof the rings first cover

The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien – My friend loves this series, and after watching two of the films, and picking up this series of books from the thrift store, I am well into The Hobbit. Really looking forward to the whole series!

a game of thrones

Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – I’ve been seeing this series around a lot on booktube. I got 50 pages into the first book, and also read one graphic novel out of this series. I’ve been tempted to watch the show on HBO, especially now that they’re broadcasting the last show of the season at an IMAX theatre, but I don’t have cable, and I’m pretty content reading the books. That way I don’t have to see something I don’t want to, and I can enjoy the story at my own pace. I think if the show had a lot of supernatural or magical elements to it, I would want to see it just for the special effects. But, aside from that I’m pretty happy enjoying these stories in book form!

I might also try Peter Pan and the Star Catchers series since I’ve been seeing it at the library and I love Neverland 🙂

Whew! That was a lot! I know it’s only 5 but series are a commitment! I mean, if you look at it, each series has several books:

  • Infernal Devices – 3 (a triology)
  • Series of Unfortunate Events – 13
  • The Chronicles of Narnia – 6
  • The Lord of the Rings – 3, with a prequel (The Hobbit), which makes it 4
  • A Game of Thrones – 5, which apparently has more to come (Winds of Winter, 2015? 2016?)

My list of series I want to complete has been growing since December! I’m glad I finally got to list them all in this post and I plan on finishing them. Time period?: that’s a completely other story!! With work and family I honestly don’t know!! I usually get to read around 10 until past midnight and I go to sleep when I get tired. So we’ll see how it goes.  You can catch my updates on my Goodreads if that bloats your boat!

So, that’s all for me for now. I will see you tomorrow for the Best of the Book Blogosphere Awards winners!

Leave a Reply

