Blogging Workflow – BookBlogWriMo #9 | M&M Mariam

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been book blogging for 12 years. Which, I know, seems like a LOT! But I started book blogging in high school in 2002 on a writing website hosted by Tripod/Lycos just writing my thoughts before, during, and after reading books like Babysitter’s Club and my favorite Angel books. In 2006, I started journaling my thoughts on books on BookCrossing.com.Three years later I switched to Amazon’s Shelfari.

this was my past book review stuff

I really liked the virtual bookshelf which actually looked like a real bookshelf, and pretty spiffy one at that, and had a widget for my blog — so I starting reviewing books on Shelfari, books like The Kind Friends we Used to be by Frances O’Roark Dowell, & Maximum Ride by James Patterson. This year I picked up reviewing books on this blog on WordPress as M&M Mariam– and am hoping I can get to the point where I can review ARCs, do sponsored posts, and at the same time, read and review AWESOME new books.

So, nowadays I tend to review books on YouTube, so I “BookTube.” For a while after I joined booktube I wanted to read 15 books a month since some booktubers are crazy fast readers and I got caught up in the hype. I also wanted to read every book my favorite booktubers recommended, but then I took a step back when I found myself in a 3-month long reading slump. I managed to read 2 book a month, but I put down 15 others after reading 15 pages each. So I decided I will read books I like at a pace comfy for me, otherwise that takes the fun out of reading, and out of book blogging. So now I read what I like and I keep up a 3-5 book a month pace.

  • I read the book, tabbing favorite passages or ones I want to talk about.
  • Fill in a review template on a notebook
  • Jot down 2-3 things that stuck out specifically for me.

I review books for people who I think would benefit from my reviews — so that’s a mix of people. I look out for things my religious readers, and my English-Literature-professor-lit analyzer-type people, as well as my teen audience would care to know about. And stuff that just personally mattered to me. I figure if it matters to me, it matters to other people too. For example, in Ellen Hopkins’s Smoke, I was bothered by Jackie’s rape, but it is central point in the book, so I made mention of the mature content in the book in my review on Ashley’s blog.

  • I also usually pick one or two of my favorite passages or quotes to read out loud.
  • I film or draft the video footage.
  • Takes me an hour to edit.

Then I usually post the same day, unless I feel like I didn’t act like myself or was just not happy with my review. I really feel for a YouTube video to be viewed, there has to be SOME entertainment value, and sometimes I take it too far and I’m not myself, like I’ll over do the valley girl accent, and that’s not me, or if I’m tired I’ll wait to view it tomorrow, do a final edit, and then upload to YouTube.

That’s pretty much it! I post a Young Adult/Middle grade book and 3 children’s book review once a week. So 1 YA/MG review, and 1 review on 3 kid’s book a week. Which makes 2 reviews. But I’ve been bad this week, a little behind because I’m doing some research for another big project :/ I am not a perfect blogger!! But I’m working on it 🙂

MY KID’S BOOK REVIEW CHANNEL: Mimi’s Kids Reads

MY MAIN CHANNEL: M&M Mariam’s BookTube Channel

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram.  – I posted my Book Blog WriMo # 5 (Where I Blog), 7 (Blog’s First Design), & 8 (My Blogging Toolkit) on my Instagram. I’m always posting stuff including photo challenges, and right now the #HarryXMasToYou read a long watch a thon. Also check out my book review channels up above and I’ll catch you all later 🙂

Leave a Reply

