M&M Read a Thon – First official read a thon over & Plans for December

Sunday was the end of the first-ever M&M Read-a-thon. I want to give a huge Thank you to Ashley of the book blog, Down the Book Hole, Jack of YouTube Channel ReadingWithJack, Savvy from the blog SavvyWorkingGal, and Christina from YouTube Channel Christina Marie.

Look forward to more collaborations from Savvy and me in the near future, and hopefully from me, Jack, Ashley, and Christina, also!

This year, the week of the read a thon featured over 5 book reviews, diverse books, and a great family friendly photo challenge!

Next year, look forward to more!

Plans for December – Blog, Youtube Channel

december holidays

I uploaded a video last night on my channel last night.  So, I plan on enjoying vacation time with my family the last week of December, as I’m sure most of you will be! I think we all need some time off of work! The rest of the month however, I will be doing hard work on my blog and channel, while you are voting for your favorite blog on the The Best of the Book Blogosphere Awards! 😀 Shamless plug.

I’m a little nervous to announce my plans for December, as I’m afarid they will not be as successful as I want them to be. However, posting my plans to my readers I hope will help motivate me to stick to it, through thick and thin. So here goes nothing!

  1. BookBlogWriMo – via video. Talking about the ins and outs and the hows and whys of book blogging.
  2. Children’s Review Videos once every week
  3. Young Adult Videos every other week
  4. The final month to vote for your favorite book blog on the Book Blog awards.

There have been 80 nominations. This is a reader’s choice award. Only your opinions are counted. I did not nominate any of these blogs. They were all nominated either by the blog owner, or its readers. So, voice your opinion here! Winners will be announced January 15th.

  1. Teacher Discussion Videos on Common Core and ELA activities for teachers, parents for after school and home school reading related activities
  2. Photo Challenge for December

december photo challenge by book updates dec photo challge

I decided I am going to do a photo challenge this December. While deciding between BooksAndCupcakes and #DecBookPics I’m going to go with #DecBookPics. However there are some prompts I’m loving from the BooksAndCupcakes December challenge, so I might do one of those whichever one tickles my fancy. I am doing the photo challenge this December with a twist. I tried one in September, and failed miserably just because I couldn’t think of books I’d read this year that I fell in love with — only about 70% of the books I read I really like, which is, I know it’s a large percentage even for most bookish people, but I know I can think of tons of short stories, and poems that fit the categories of the challenge. Plus, they are all still the written word.

My preferred medium of stories, is novels – -the kind I love best but I have to admit, there are some poems and short stories that I adore even more than some novels, like “The Monkey’s Paw” by Guy de Maupassant. If you like to take pictures, or are into Instagramming your life, I encourage you to join me in this challenge and follow me on Instagram at http://www.instagram.com/perfecshunist. Post pictures of books, novels, stories, poems, or even plays that fall under the day’s prompt. Also, if you’re interested in getting a loved one into reading, see  my post about using photo challenges as a way to engage young readers.

This December will be one to remember. Yes! Leave a comment below telling me what you are most looking forward to and what your plans are for this December! Have an awesome Tuesday 🙂

Leave a Reply

