Sci-Fi Month 2014 Introduction Post

I

So in addition to a video I made yesterday, Rinn, the co-creator of Sci-Fi Month encourages everyone participating to write an intro post.  Since this is my first Sci Fi Month, I’ll model the questions after Rinn’s last year post so you can find out a little about my interest in all things Science Fiction!!

  1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

ME W GREEN MUG

I’m Mariam Mimi.  I write.  I teach.  I like to laugh.

I am the founder of the The Best of the Book Blogosphere awards and make videos regularly on books and learning technology.

  1. How long have you been a fan of sci-fi?

Forever!! But as far back as I can remember, probably One book and one TV show.  The Birth and Death of Stars by Issac Asimov & Nickelodeon’s space misfits show: Space Cases.

spce cases with all fo them

  1. Why do you like sci-fi, and what is your favorite thing about it?

I like Sci-Fi because it’s clever, yet imaginative.  It’s entertaining without limiting your own creativity.

  1.   Favorite books/games/films/TV shows in the genre?
  • Books: StarTrek: Fearful Symmetry by Olivia Woods and the Catalyst of Sorrows by Margaret Bannano. Also, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. 

the catalyst of corrows  fearful summytry

  • Games:   haven’t been a huge sci-fi gamer, as much as Nintendo gamer…but if I had to say something I’d say Maelstrom made for PC like a bajillion years ago. 
  • TV shows: Space Cases, Sliders, and Strange Days at Blake Holsey High.  I’d even go as far as at the 60s and say The Munsters on TV Land.

sliders wtih fi,lms

blake holsey high

the munsters

  • Films: Lost in Space, which I thought was just Space Cases made into film, but overall enjoyable.  Independence Day with Will Smith, and The Poof Point (Disney TV movie)

indendeptn dace

the poorf points

  1. What are your plans for Sci-Fi Month?

Since this is my first year, I’ll be posting weekly, maybe do some sci-fi review for kids books, visit other bloggers who’re participating, do some photo challenges.  I would love to do one of those Sci-Fi bingo games from Oh! the Books site.  Oh and also…. put this badge on my blog. 🙂

sci fi month

I’m not always at home, and I know most of my blog readers are not, so I made my blog mobile friendly by removing the side bar.  You can view this blog easily on any device: iPad, Galaxy, iPhone, iPod, whatev. So with this new design I get to place all my badges in my post.  yay for no sidebars!!

BTW, If there’s a device you use this blog doesn’t view well on, please leave me a comment below so I can accommodate all of you!!

Now onto the my exciting part for the day: find out all the crazy cool stuff other people, including bloggers, and fans are doing this month 🙂 Going to track the hashtag #RRSciFiMonth.  Catch you all on the flip side.  😉

2 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Month 2014 Introduction Post

Leave a Reply

