Top 3 Thursdays + Wonderfully Wicked Readathon

Goooood morning all!! I’m going to take this time to do my first post for my very own meme called Top 3 Thursdays & my TBR list for the Wonderfully  Wicked Readathon.

The topic for this week is to write about the top 3 books that made you angry like a villain, eg like Superman’s enemies Hank Henshaw, Conduit, or Doomsday.

top 3 thursday meme with contac details

  1. Fearful Symmetry by Olivia Woods

This is a Star Trek novel, and one of my favorites. This made me angry because the main character was forced by a wormhole to take the place of another woman’s, in this other woman’s BODY.  She had made some enemies, as many leaders, even good ones, do. She was held hostage and raped continuously as a punishment for her captors evil, and sadistic intentions. It made me angry because 1. the rapist had the wrong person, 2. the original woman hadn’t done anything wrong. The rapist didn’t like her and wanted to overpower her, take control of her territory.

  1. A Step from Heaven by An Na

This book made me angry because the dad of the immigrant family got drunk and abused his wife and kids, first verbally, then physically and they had no family, or friends to turn to for help living, after all in a brand new country. It was shocking to me, because I come from an immigrant family and we saw hard times, job and city switching, but my Dad, even though he was dealing with a disease  and job hunting was such a gentle person. Even if he raised his voice, he’d calm down and buy us something to make up for it.

  1. Gilmore Girls (TV Drama)

This may be superficial but I was angry when Rory broke up with Dean and got together with Jess. I don’t hate Jess, I actually like him as a character, especially the fact that he liked to read. He was difficult, but just misunderstood, in my opinion. However, Dean was a caring, sweet boyfriend — the best one any girl could have and she gave him all up for somebody else — who at first, all he liked to do was make-out and didn’t want to go to the Winter carnival with Rory. After that I watched only a few episodes in season 3 and stopped watching the show completely after that. I’m re-watching the series now with my sisters on Netflix since it was released on October 1st.

wonderfully-wicked-readathon-2014

Also, this week a read a thon called the Wonderfully Wicked Read a thon is going on — starting today Octber 17-27. It is hosted by My Shelf Confessions and I will be participating. Since I’ve been in a major reading slump and sucked at my last two read a thons, I decided to take booktuber Lindsey’s advice and not force myself to read books, instead read the books I want. So, hence, my colorful Skittles-style TBR:

My TBR for the Wonderfully Wicked Read a thon:

My YA Books

  1. The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty
  2. Ttyl by Lauren Myracle

My Kids/Middle Grade Books

  1. Children of the Lamp: The Cobra King of Cathmandu by PB Kerr
  2. Treasure Hunters by James Patterson

Graphic Novels and Picture Books

  1. The Prince of Persia: Before the Sandstorm by Jordan Mechner
  2. All Kinds of Animals by Judy Hull Moore
  3. I’m an elementary Arabic student so I’m working on my Arabic!!!

the 3 little bears in arabic title of book(The Three Little Bears in Arabic)

Nonfiction

  1. Alternative Cures by Bill Gotlieb
  2. Enjoy Your Life by Muhammad Abd Al-Rahaman Al-Arifi
  3. Islamic Medicine by Yusuf Al-Hajj Ahmad
  4. Islam in Global History by Dr. Nazeer Ahmed
  5. Natural Healing with the Medicine of the Prophet by Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziya

I hope you enjoyed my post!  Feel free to grab the infographic of the “Thursday Feels” meme and if you are a pop culture enthusiast, reader, or just like your weekly movies, feel free to join in and post on your blog, Tumblr, Instagram, or Youtube channel!

WHERE ELSE TO FIND ME:
Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/5618979
Instagram – http://instagram.com/perfecshunist
Book Blog – https://mnmmariam.wordpress.com/
Twitter – http://twitter.com/emancipatedmimi

5 thoughts on “Top 3 Thursdays + Wonderfully Wicked Readathon

    • agreed! I like picture books so I sometimes I read them one of my favorites is Rainy Day and Miss Malarky leaves no reader behind 🙂 they’re quick 7 minute raeds and i can add it to my books I read pile. I somtimes add a graphic novel or comics to my list.:)

      Like

  1. Pingback: Am I going to become a Bilingual Book blogger? | Mariam Mimi's Bookish Blog

Leave a Reply

